Mineola, NY

The Truth is Out There – WAY Out There ! !

On Slander, Libel, and Talking to the Hand


Well it’s been a while since my last posting as I’ve been a busy little bee, doing research and gathering information.  So I haven’t had the chance to address an insight that somebody shared via the “Comment” section of my last posting regarding the First Amendment.  This individual, going by the name of Herneola stated:

“You seem fairly sure you know the first amendment and all it’s protections.  Now go learn about slander and libel.  You’re guilty of both.”

The Bill of Rights

So I went back and looked at my postings, and I’m not really sure what was slanderous or libelous about anything I’ve said.  But if I’ve missed something, I’d like to know what it is.  As a matter of fact I tried to contact this person using the e-mail address they provided when they submitted their comment, but it came back as a discontinued account.  In other words, Herneola created an e-mail account to submit his/her comment, and then deactivated it so he/she couldn’t be contacted.  And that’s fine.  Whatever.

Just so we’re clear, my goal is to get at the truth, which has been in EXCEEDINGLY short supply in this village for many years now.  If employees have not done right by the taxpayers of Mineola by abusing their positions within the administration, by lying, by deliberately misinterpreting laws and regulations, by not reviewing contracts, or by covering up the illegal actions of others; and if by my due diligence, which involves the investment of MY time and MY money, I can investigate and document these things and bring them out in the open, then where is the slander and where is the libel?  Where is the problem?

STOCKHOLM SYNDROME?

One problem lies with those who have engaged in abuse of power, lies, patronage, harassment, discrimination, cover-ups and other acts of malfeasance.  The other problem is with those who refuse to remove their rose-colored glasses to look at the cold, hard facts.  They’re akin to kidnap victims who bond with their captors – a well-recognized survival strategy known as Stockholm Syndrome.  Like a battered woman who keeps allowing her abuser back into her life, these people would rather live in denial than accept that their employees have abused their trust.  It’s much easier to shoot the messenger.

Then of course, there are those residents who have everything to gain by maintaining the status quo.

So Herneola et al,  if you’ve done your due diligence; if you’ve gone through files at Village Hall, and the County Clerk’s office and the District Court; if you’ve used the resources that are available to all of us through the Federal and State FOILS, the UCC, the UJC and the plethora of other laws that grant us access to public information; then please share your knowledge with me.  If I’m wrong then I must correct myself.  However, if YOU aren’t willing to put the same amount of time, effort and personal resources behind your comments as I’ve done over these past few years, then pardon me as I invite you, with the utmost respect, to “talk to the hand.”

But thanks for the comment.  You gave me something new to write about.

February 24, 2011 Posted by | 1st Amendment, Civil Liberties, Constitutional Law, Freedom of Speech, Mineola NY, Nassau County, NYCLU | , , , , , , | 4 Comments